The aftermath of an accident can be overwhelming, with medical bills, future physical therapy and medication costs, and the potential loss of the ability to work and earn a paycheck. Our Katy personal injury lawyer at the Law Office of Shane McClelland is here to help you navigate the legal process and aggressively pursue the responsible parties for financial compensation.
Don’t let an unfortunate accident leave you feeling helpless. At the Law Office of Shane McClelland, our skilled Katy, TX personal injury lawyer is here to empower you and fight for just compensation.
We can work with you to develop a personalized legal strategy tailored to your specific needs and circumstances. We understand that each case is unique, and we will work tirelessly to seek the monetary damages and other compensation you deserve, whether its medical expenses, lost wages, or pain and suffering, we work to keep you from bearing the burden alone.
If a plaintiff is successful in their claim, they will be awarded compensation to cover accident-related losses. For over 15 years, the personal injury lawyers at the Law Office of Shane McClelland have helped their clients receive the compensation they need and deserve. Please Call us at 713-987-7107 to talk with an attorney about your case.
The Texas Civil Practice and Remedies Code outlines the legal rights and remedies available to individuals injured due to another person’s negligence or wrongful conduct. The victim may be entitled to compensation for various types of losses.
Compensation is not automatic, and the plaintiff must be able to prove that the defendant was at fault to receive financial recovery. The state also places limits on the award amount.
Other potential damages include punitive, exemplary, and mental anguish. Working with an experienced Katy personal injury lawyer can help the injured achieve a fair outcome.
In Texas, the statute of limitations for personal injury cases is generally two years from the date of the injury.
This rule has some exceptions. For example, suppose an injury is not immediately apparent, such as an injury caused by exposure to a toxic substance. In this case, the statute of limitations may begin from the date the injury is discovered rather than the date of the initial exposure. This is known as the “discovery rule.”
Certain cases may have different statutes of limitations. For example, lawsuits against government entities must be filed within six months of the date of the injury.
For minors, the statute of limitations begins once they turn 18. Then, they will have two years from their 18th birthday to file a lawsuit.
Texas’s “modified comparative fault” rule is a legal principle governing how damages are awarded to individuals involved in an accident. It stipulates that individuals can recover damages if they are not more than 50% at fault.
The amount of damages awarded to an individual will be reduced by the percentage of fault assigned to them. For example, if an individual is found to be 30% at fault for an accident, they will only be able to recover 70% of the damages they sustained. This means that if the damages incurred are $100,000, the individual can only recover $70,000.
If an individual is found to be 50% or more at fault for an accident, they will not be able to recover any damages, regardless of the total sustained.
When another person’s carelessness causes someone harm, a personal injury claim may allow the injured party to recover compensation for their losses. Navigating the legal aspects of a case can be tricky. Still, the victim may have a much smoother journey with a seasoned attorney.
With a wealth of experience under our belts, the Law Office of Shane McClelland can protect our clients’ rights, provide professional guidance, and steer them through the legal process.